Summertime developments

So summer has started.

Like really started this time. During the time I wrote my last blog post I was just spending my days chilling around my Nana’s house, reading, watching TV, eating food…not really doing a whole lot with my day.

But now.. Now summer school has started. Now I am spending my whole day in class or lab, studying, eating/cooking, and more studying. I try to relax here and there but it often seems like I am putting things off.

Some things just don’t change. I wondered before starting school this summer at Collin College if it would be different than at Berea. If my schedule would be less “busy” since I wouldn’t be so involved with on and off campus activities. If I would be less distracted by friends and the boyfriend. However, for me, school is school. And especially Microbiology and Chemistry. I still get distracted, but by my new friends; my friends from Grey’s Anatomy that is. Grey’s is my relaxation and my time to connect with people – even if they are on a TV screen. I need people to care about and right now they are what I have. A little sad, but when all your friends are off exploring or interning, it is what you’ve got.

And so, after reading my last blog post, I come back to my three summer goals:

1) Find balance

…between studying, spending time with family, and enjoying the wonderful things that summer offers. So far, I have been trying to be very attentive of this goal. While I spend much more of my time studying or watching Grey’s Anatomy, I have found myself recognizing when it is I need to just relax and enjoy some sunshine, go catch a movie with my sis, or spend some time in the kitchen with my Papa. I have been trying to put my study time into perspective, realizing that while this information is very important and foundational, it also cannot be my whole entire life. I do not know when the next time I will get to spend a long amount of time with my sister or Papa is, so I am trying to share memories with them and enjoy their company. I am also trying to enjoy the company of myself. I am trying to find space in my mind to think through what it is I am wanting for my summer, future in Washington, future with Zane, other relationships, and simply observing the desires of my heart.

zucchini bread and alumFinding some of that balance; baking zucchini bread in the kitchen and making Alum (food pickling agent) in the Chemistry lab.

2) Survive Microbiology

So far, so good. Well, I am still alive at least. I have definitely been studying more for Micro than Chemistry, but that is because of the nature of the course load. All in all, Chemistry has been more complicated content wise. However, Micro is much like A&P in that it is information dense. And I have it four days a week. So that is four lectures in one week plus four labs. It is a lot to assimilate and that has been the toughest part. By the time I go to sleep and my brain tries to organize everything I learned that day, I wake up at 6:30 the next morning to learn a whole new set of information. While it is difficult, it is not impossible. I just have to keep doing my best and being Lauren Freaking Cameron as Zane likes to call me. 😉

3) Run more

…so that Ashley (my sister) and I can run a 5k by August 1st. Well, Ashley and I signed up for The Melon Run in McKinney. We have both been trying to keep to running schedules we found via the internet. I am doing an interval training schedule, which is different for me because I usually do endurance style runs (aka. run until my legs want to give out and I don’t think I can really breath anymore). While running has been part of that balancing act (goal 1), it has been good for me to make the time in my schedule for this. This has been a topic for Ashley and I to connect with and for us to keep each other accountable. I am quite sure that if we weren’t doing this together, neither of us would still be running at this point. While I know this is a goal to be able to run a 5k by the end of the summer, my hope is that it transpires into a long term habit of running. Something I look forward to doing regularly. This is usually my running goal. At the moment though, I know I need something more concrete and short-term, hence the paying $25 to run 3.1 miles. I don’t mind though; the money goes to the local cat rescue!

It has been wet, humid, hot, tiring thus far. But it has also been such a blessing to spend time with my family, self, and immersed in learning. While my heart is getting its sights set on the beautiful Pacific North West, I am still trying to enjoy the Hot Down South.

Don’t allow your life to just be fine. Or okay. Or even good. Make it brilliant, spectacular, wild, extraordinary. Fill it with excitement and adventure, be passionate and fearless, search for freedom and opportunity. You only get one life, so make it count. Make it mean something. Make it yours.

Leave a Reply

